Interesting People I Would Invite Over for Breakfast

I get the most done in the morning so if I wanted to have some interesting people over to my home, it would be for breakfast. I would offer tasty delicacies such as croissants, berries and cream, bacon, cheese souffle, poached eggs, turkey sausages, biscuits, oatmeal and smoked salmon with bagels. Here are some people I would invite over for breakfast.

I really enjoy the works of Harlem Renaissance writers such as Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston and Countee Cullen so if they were alive I would have them over for breakfast. I wanted to discuss Zora Neale Hurston’s travels throughout the South and Caribbean as a folklolrist of black culture and I wanted to know more about the complexities of her life as an African American female writer in the 20s and 30s. I would also find out the inspiration behind some of Langston Hughes’s famous poems.

I’m a foodie at heart so I would definitely invite Julia Child over if she were alive. I would talk about the years she spent learning French cuisine and what was it like to write an entire cookbook of this cuisine. I would’ve been intimidated to write something like this but she pulled it off well. I would also invite Ree Drummond of the Pioneer Woman cooking show on Food Network. Her meals are so downhome and flavorful, and they remind me of what my great-grandmother used to cook a long time ago. Other foodies I would invite include B Smith, Ina Garten and Rachel Ray.

I work from home and I have an infant so it can be a challenge to get things done regarding my work. I would love to interview a few housewives from the 1950s because during that decade we saw this image of the well-dressed and sweet housewife who seems to keep everything together for the husband and kids. I want to know if this image really reflected the lives of housewives during that decade. I also know that there were women who worked outside the home in the 50s so I would like to get advice from them on ways I can juggle my family responsibilities with my work.

I just love 70s music so of course I would invite some of my favorite artists from that decade over for breakfast. These include Chick Corea, Weather Report, Stevie Wonder, Mandrill, Airto Moreira, and Chic. I would want them to bring their instruments so we can have a live jam session. I’m a volunteer disc jockey at a college radio station so that would make this extra special.

This may sound funny, but toddlers are interesting people and are known for driving parents insane at times. My daughter is almost a toddler and just to get practice for that time in her life, I would invite a bunch of toddlers over for breakfast to test my patience and to have fun with them. I’m sure they have interesting things to say and do. I would need to provide plenty of toys.

So there you have it, some of the most interesting people I would like to have breakfast with.

 

Leave a Reply

