Love Letter to My Future Daughter

I’m going to become a mother in less than two months and here is the love letter that I wanted to write to her to show her the unconditional love I have and to share the goals I have for her.

To My Beloved Daughter:

I want you to know that when I found out I was pregnant with you, I loved you immediately. I started to dream about my life as a mother to you and honestly, I wonder if I will be the best mother possible. You’re my first bundle of joy and together we’ll create so many memories in the future. I think about how you’re going to smile, cry and laugh all within hours in a day and I think about the joys and pains you’ll experience as you get older.

I pray that first of all you will grow to love and fear God and become a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ. I pray that you’ll allow the Holy Spirit to guide you in every decision and that you’ll serve Christ daily in all that you do. I know that you’re my blessing from God and it’s for this reason that I’m dedicating you to Him for His will to be done in your life. Second, I pray that you’ll become a confident and hard working woman one day who can possibly change others’ lives through your kindness and actions. I hope that you will discover your talents and turn them into a fruitful career one day. I would like for you to one day marry a godly man who will love you sacrificially just as Christ loved his church sacrificially and gave His life for our redemption so that we may live eternally in heaven. I want you to raise godly children who will themselves become believers one day. Thirdly, I pray that you will grow by leaps and bounds emotionally and intellectually and that you’ll maintain a positive attitude.

I don’t know what you look like now, but I know that once you enter the world your beauty will be admired by everyone. I look forward to the first breastfeeding where I can feel you receiving sweet nourishment and bonding from me. Hopefully I won’t ball my eyes out but I probably will since I’m emotional about everything. My heart will do jumping jacks on the inside as I see you engage in observing your world and I can’t wait to dress you in beautiful clothing daily.

Sure I will have sleepless nights after you come home and I there may even be times when I feel frustrated during the childrearing process. But I wouldn’t trade that experience because it’s through motherhood that I  grow as a person and I feel that motherhood can help me become mature.

Today I told your father what your gender was and he was so excited. His mother was just as excited and you will be loved by them greatly. I think about how your father will do what he can to protect you from dangers and especially those young men who might cause you heartbreak as a teen.

Finally, know that you are loved unconditionally and that I will do everything possible to raise you in a caring and stable home. I’ll see you soon.

Leave a Reply

